RSFAS seminars

All Series

View individual series using the dropdown for more information on the seminar organisers.

Series Topic Speaker Venue Time and day
Statistics Statistical Challenges in Going from Raw Reads to Clinical Relevance in the Study of the Human Microbiome Susan Holmes (Stanford University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

15:00 - 16:00
Mon 23/1/17

Finance TBA Abraham (Avri) Ravid (Yeshiva University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 2/2/17

Statistics Multivariate Power Laws and Fitting a Preferential Attachment Network Model Sidney Resnick (Cornell University) CBE LT1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 16/2/17

Finance TBA Andrew Hertzberg (Columbia University) CBE Lecture Theatre 4

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 27/2/17

Statistics Semiparametric Regression Using Variational Approximations Francis K.C. Hui (Mathematical Sciences Institute, ANU) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 2/3/17

Finance TBA Kewei Hou (Ohio State) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 3/3/17

Finance TBA Daisuke Miyakawa (Hitotsubashi) CBE Lecture Theatre 2

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 6/3/17

Statistics Crunching Mortality and Annuity Portfolios with extended CreditRisk+ Pavel Shevchenko (Macquarie University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 9/3/17

Finance TBA Robert Miller (Carnegie Mellon) Fred Gruen Seminar Room (RSE)

11:00 - 12:30
Tue 14/3/17

Statistics Modelling the Causes and Effects of Poor Child Growth Craig Anderson (UTS) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 16/3/17

Finance TBA Federico Nardari (University of Melbourne) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 17/3/17

Statistics Graphons and Data Ngoc Tran (University of Texas Austin) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 23/3/17

Finance TBA Xuezhong He (UTS) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 24/3/17

Statistics Estimating Gradient Flow Lines of Densities: Application of a Uniform in Bandwidth Result David Mason (University of Delaware) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 30/3/17

Finance TBA Yael Hochberg (Rice University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 31/3/17

Statistics Table Counting and Exact Conditional Inference for Contingency Tables James Booth (Cornell University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 6/4/17

Finance TBA Vidhan Goyal (HKUST) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 7/4/17

Finance TBA Sophie Xiaoyan Ni (HKUST) CBE Lecture Theatre 3

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 10/4/17

Statistics Business Analytics: A Statistician’s Perspective Haipeng Shen (University of Hong Kong) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Wed 12/4/17

Statistics Modelling Mortality by Cause of Death and Socio-Economic Stratification: An Analysis of Mortality Differentials in England Andres Villegas Ramirez (UNSW) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 20/4/17

Finance TBA Steven Callander (Stanford University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 21/4/17

Statistics P-Values and Evidence: A Counter Example Garique Glonek (University of Adelaide) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 27/4/17

Finance TBA (Joint Seminar with CAMA) Alistair Milne (Loughborough University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 1/5/17

Statistics The Notion of Optimality in Optimal Retirement Planning Saisai Zhang (University of Waterloo) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 4/5/17

Finance TBA Elena Simintzi (University of British Columbia) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 5/5/17

Finance TBA Andreas Stathopoulos (University of Washington) CBE Lecture Theatre 2

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 8/5/17

Finance History Matters – Rating under Asymmetric Information Alexander Szimayer (University of Hamburg) Allan Barton Forum

13:00 - 14:00
Wed 10/5/17

Statistics Improved Algorithms for Computing Worst Value-at-Risk: Numerical Challenges and the Adaptive Rearrangement Algorithm Marius Hofert (University of Waterloo) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 11/5/17

Statistics The Glue that Binds Statistical Inference, Tidy Data, Grammar of Graphics, Data Visualisation and Visual Inference Di Cook (Monash University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 18/5/17

Finance TBA Paulo Maio (Hanken, Finland) CBE Lecture Theatre 2

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 22/5/17

Statistics Forecast Mortality Improvement in Fourteen More Advanced Economies and Its Implication for Future Support Ratios Nick Parr (Macquarie University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 25/5/17

Finance TBA James Nason (University NC State) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 26/5/17

Finance TBA Richard Sloan (Berkeley) Allan Barton

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 29/5/17

Finance TBA Jennifer Brown (University of British Columbia) Allan Barton

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 2/6/17

Finance TBA Jianxin Wang (UTS) CBE Lecture Theatre 2

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 5/6/17

Finance TBA Louis Nguyen (St. Andrews) Allan Barton

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 9/6/17

Finance TBA Jonathan Brogaard (University of Washington) Allan Barton

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 16/6/17

Finance TBA Darwin Choi (CUHK) Crisp 1064

11:00 - 12:30
Tue 20/6/17

Statistics TBA Rituparna Sen (Indian Statistical Institute) Allan Barton Forum

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 13/7/17

Updated:   18 January 2017 / Responsible Officer:  Dean, Business & Economics / Page Contact:  College Web Team