RSFAS seminars

All Series

View individual series using the dropdown for more information on the seminar organisers.

Series Topic Speaker Venue Time and day
Finance Naughty Firms, Noisy Disclosure: The Effects of Cartel Enforcement on Corporate Disclosure Thomas Bourveau (HKUST Business School) Fred Gruen

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 29/1/18

Finance What Makes the SP500 Jump Marcel Prokopczuk (Leibniz University Hannover) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 16/2/18

Statistics Making better decisions in the face of uncertainty in Digital Agriculture: The Uncertainty Toolbox Petra Kuhnert (CSIRO Canberra) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 22/2/18

Finance In the Shadow of Banks: Wealth Management Products and Issuing Banks’ Risk in China Jun Qian (Fudan University) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 23/2/18

Statistics Frequentist Expectation Propagation Matthew Wand (University of Technology Sydney) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 1/3/18

Finance The Commonality of Sovereign Credit Risk: A Rating-Based Approach Tao Li (City University of Hong Kong) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 2/3/18

Finance News Momentum Sophia Zhengzi Li (Rutgers) Allan Barton Forum

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 5/3/18

Statistics Are Extreme Value Estimation Methods Useful for Network Data? Sidney Resnick (Cornell University) CBE Lecture Theatre 1

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 8/3/18

Actuarial Studies Competitive Equilibria in a Comonotone Market Tim Boonen (University of Amsterdam) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 15/3/18

Finance Railroad Bailouts in the Great Depression Lyndon Moore (University of Melbourne) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 16/3/18

Statistics Persistent homology rank function Katharine Turner (Mathematical Sciences Institute ANU) CBE LT2

11:10 - 12:30
Thu 22/3/18

Finance Fund Flow Diversification: Implications for Fee-Setting and Performance Lorenzo Casavecchia (Macquarie University) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 23/3/18

Statistics On quasi-infinitely divisible distributions Alexander Lindner (Institute of Mathematical Finance, Ulm University) Fred Gruen Room

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 23/3/18

Statistics User-Centered Data Analytics and Modeling - A Scalable Probabilistic Tensor Factorization Model for Semantic-Aware Behaviour Prediction Hongzhi Yin (University of Queensland) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 26/3/18

Statistics Stochastic Compactness of Multidimensional Levy Processes David Mason (ANU) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 29/3/18

Statistics The Darling-Erdos theorem and Feller's integral test in Euclidean space Uwe Einmahl (University of Brussel, Belgium) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 5/4/18

Finance Foreign Ties that Bind: Cross-border Firm Expansions and Fund Portfolio Allocation around the World Peter Pham (University of New South Wales) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 6/4/18

Actuarial Studies Topic 1: Momentum in a Multi-Period World, Topic 2: Member Defined Utility function David Bell (Mine Wealth and Wellbeing) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 12/4/18

Finance Institutional Crowding and the Moments of Momentum Roger Edelen (UC Davis Grad School of Management) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 13/4/18

Statistics Estimation and Testing for a partially linear single-index spatial regression model Yan Sun (Shanghai University of Finance and Economics) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 19/4/18

Finance Information revelation through regulatory process: Interactions between the SEC and companies ahead of the IPO Ekaterina Volkova (University of Melbourne) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 20/4/18

Statistics A nonparametric regression model for cross-market prediction under conditional heteroscedasticity Xibin Zhang (Monash University) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 26/4/18

Statistics Object Oriented Data Analysis James Steve Marron (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 3/5/18

Finance Unrelated Acquisitions Rajesh Aggarwal (Northeastern University) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 4/5/18

Finance Stress Tests and Small Business Lending Kristle Cortés (University Of New South Wales) Allan Barton Forum

11:00 - 12:30
Mon 7/5/18

Statistics Generalised latent variable models for multivariate abundances in ecology David Warton (University of New South Wales) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 10/5/18

Actuarial Studies Pricing and Hedging Insurance Risks Using Principle of Equivalent Forward Preferences Alfred Chong (University of Illinois) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 17/5/18

Finance Credit Ratings: Adding value to Public Information Uday Rajan (University of Michigan) Fred Gruen Room

14:00 - 15:30
Tue 22/5/18

Statistics Network Vector Autoregression Xuening Zhu (PennStateScience) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 24/5/18

Finance TBA Thijs Van der Heijden (The University of Melbourne) CBE Lecture Theatre 2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 1/6/18

Statistics TBA Andriy Olenko (La Trobe University) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 7/6/18

Actuarial Studies TBA Han Li (University of NSW) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 14/6/18

Finance TBA Hai Lin (Victoria University of Wellington) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 15/6/18

Statistics TBA James Derek Tucker (Sandia National Laboratories) Arndt LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 12/7/18

Actuarial Studies TBA Arnold Shapiro (Penn State University) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Thu 19/7/18

Finance TBA Richard Holden (University of New South Wales) CBE LT2

11:00 - 12:30
Fri 20/7/18

Updated:   31 January 2018 / Responsible Officer:  Dean, Business & Economics / Page Contact:  College Web Team